

www.rbi.org.in

RBI/2017-18/195 DBR.No.BAPD.BC.111/22.01.001/2017-18

June 14, 2018

All Domestic Commercial Banks (excluding Regional Rural Banks, Payments Banks and Local Area Banks)

Madam/Dear Sir,

Section 23 of the Banking Regulation Act, 1949 – Branch Authorisation Policy – Left Wing Extremism affected districts – Revised List

Please refer to our circular on 'Rationalisation of Branch Authorisation Policy-Revision of Guidelines' No.DBR.BAPD.BC.69/22.01.001/2016-17 dated May 18, 2017. As per the contents of paragraph No.4.2 (c) of the circular, a list of 106 Left Wing Extremism (LWE) affected districts in the country was furnished under Annex III of the circular, which was based on Government of India notification dated February 24, 2016.

2. As the Government of India has revised the list to 90 LWE affected districts, banks are advised to follow the revised list (effective from the date of this circular) as <u>annexed</u> herewith.

Yours faithfully,

(Shrimohan Yadav) Chief General Manager

Encl. As above

List of LWE districts

Andhra Pradesh Odisha (contd.) **Jharkhand** 1.East Godavari 37.Bokaro 68.Koraput 2.Guntur 38.Chatra 69.Malkangiri 3.Srikakulam 39.Dhanbad 70.Nabrangpur 4. Visakhapatnam 40.Dumka 71.Nayagarh 5. Vizianagaram 41.East Singhbhum 72.Nuapada 6.West Godavari 42.Garhwa 73.Rayagada 43.Giridih 74.Sambhalpur Bihar 44.Gumla 75.Sundargarh 45.Hazaribagh 7.Arwal **Telangana** 46.Khunti 8. Aurangabad 47.Koderma 9.Banka 76.Adilabad 48.Latehar 10.East Champaran 77.Bhadradri-Kothagudem 49.Lohardaga 11.Gaya 78. Jayashanker-Bhupalpally 50.Palamu 12.Jamui 79.Khammam 51.Ramgarh 13.Jehanabad 80.Komaram-Bheem 52.Ranchi 14.Kaimur 81.Mancherial 53.Simdega 15.Lakhisarai 82.Peddapalle 54. Saraikela-Kharaswan 16.Munger 83.Warangal Rural 55.West Singhbhum 17.Muzaffarpur **Uttar Pradesh** 18.Nalanda **Madhya Pradesh** 19.Nawada 84.Chandauli 20.Rohtas 56.Balaghat 85.Mirzapur 21.Vaishali 57.Mandla 86.Sonebhadra 22.West Champaran <u>Maharashtra</u> West Bengal **Chhattisgarh** 58.Chandrapur 87.Jhargram 23.Balod 59.Gadchiroli 60.Gondia 24.Balrampur <u>Kerala</u> 25.Bastar <u>Odisha</u> 26.Bijapur 88.Malappuram 27.Dantewada 89.Palakkad 61.Angul 28.Dhamtari 90.Wayanad 62.Bargarh 29.Gariyabad 63.Bolangir 30.Kanker 64.Boudh 31.Kondagaon 65.Deogarh 32.Mahasamund 66.Kalahandi 33.Narayanpur 67.Kandhamal 34.Rajnandgaon 35.Sukma 36.Kabirdham